I Love Rowdy Gaines

I love Rowdy Gaines.

If you don’t know who Rowdy Gaines is then you haven’t been watching the Olympics. He’s one of the swimming analysts for NBC in addition to being a former accomplished Olympian himself.

And to be more specific–I love his name.

Rowdy. Isn’t it delightful, especially since his personality doesn’t really seem to match it?

I was curious as to how he acquired this particular nickname so I began trying to find out about it. But a strange thing happened on my way to acquiring this knowledge. I got hung up on his real name.

Rowdy’s real name is Ambrose Gaines IV.

As much as I love the name “Rowdy,” I love “Ambrose” just as much.

This proves what Juliet almost said to be true: Ambrose by any other name would smell as sweet.

Sorry about that.

Whether he goes by Rowdy or Ambrose, Mr. Gaines is still a three-time Olympic gold medalist, a member of the International Swimming Hall of Fame, and an excellent analyst. What our names are doesn’t matter all that much.

What does matter infinitely is what we believe about the man named Jesus.

“Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven
given to mankind by which we must be saved.”
Acts 4:12

No matter what you name is, I hope you know this man.

What is your nickname? Or what do you wish your nickname was?
How are you making Jesus known in your community?

6 thoughts on “I Love Rowdy Gaines

  1. My nickname is Bill. There are a few annoying folks who want to call me Taco Bell Grande (not the correct spelling of my last name) but I consider the source and the possibility for retaliation and then move on. 🙂 We have a young man who visits with his grandma occasionally. His name in Xavier. I call him X-Man. His brother, who just came for the first time, i call A-Man. most common nickname? Dude. How’s that for original? For me? Call me aaah Bill.

Leave a Reply

