I’m a Rapscallion

Do words ever pop into your head? No, I don’t mean like when you stub your little (pinky?) toe on your nightstand in the middle of the night on your way back from the bathroom because you  had a few too many glasses of sweet tea before bed and those words pop into your head. I mean words that jump into your consciousness without any prompting whatsoever.

Words like “rapscallion.” That is the word that came out of nowhere to assault my brain a few days ago.

I have never been called a rapscallion, at least not to my face. I’ve also never called anyone a rapscallion. I’ve also never tried to teach a new dog old tricks because I got that saying confused (apparently it’s not too difficult).

Anyway, I have no idea why “rapscallion” popped into my head. But it did. And I’m glad. Because it is another word I can use to describe myself and everyone else I know.

One definition I was able to find of rapscallion is “a wicked or evil person; someone who does evil deliberately.”

Now, I am fully aware that we do not like to think of ourselves in this way. We like to think of ourselves in positive terms like “kind,” “compassionate,” or “loving.”

However, what we like to think of ourselves is not as important as how the Bible describes us. The Bible says that we are people with deceitful hearts who have sinned and fallen short of God’s glory. It says that none of us are good and that none seek after God.

Using different terms, the Bible says we are rapscallions.

That’s the bad news. The good news is that Jesus gave His own life of the cross for rapscallions so that any place their trust in Him can have abundant and everlasting life.

So…I’m a rapscallion.

A born-again rapscallion being transformed by the power of God into the likeness of Jesus Christ. I hope the same is true for you.

Have any strange words jumped into your head recently?
How do you feel about being a rapscallion?
Share away!

11 thoughts on “I’m a Rapscallion

Leave a Reply

