Resolution #1: Grow an Awful Beard

This week I will be telling you my resolutions for 2013. I will return to normal blogging next week. Happy New Year!

New Year’s Resolutions, if they are to stick, must be made public. I’m not sure if this is true or not, but it can’t hurt.

So here is my 1st resolution for 2013:

Grow an awful beard.

Ultimately, I want a good-looking beard. I’ve tried several times in the past only to give up too quickly. One problem is my beard seems to grow in patchy. Another problem is I spend a few hours each week in front of people and feel weird with them looking at me with a scraggly beard.

I have come to a conclusion, though, that might help me.

For a beard to look good it must first spend time looking bad.

So if I want a good-looking beard, I must first be okay having an awful beard.

Do I have what it takes to stick it out? I’m not sure.

But I’m sure going to try.

What’s one resolution you have for 2013?
Have you ever grown a beard? If so, what did it look like?

13 thoughts on “Resolution #1: Grow an Awful Beard

  1. I try hard to NOT grow a beard…:-)>
    I also try not to make resolutions. But something about a new year just makes one tend to dream big and imagine things will be different…and better…

  2. I used to grow a beard for three or 4 winters, whenever I was walking to work or cutting wood. But it just grew since I had no clue how to trim it. Then I grew one in 1995 and bought some trimmers. I kept it trimmed and close for about 8 years then one summer decided to cut it into a goatee. Dumb move since I was summer and I had been cycling for several months. I have grown my beard several times since then but my wife nixes it since I have more hair on my face than my head. I now have one in spite of that. After riding in some cold weather and shoveling snow last week for about 6-7 hours, I was glad I had it. I keep mine close to my face and trimmed. But a scraggly period must precede the beautiful period. 🙂

  3. First post on your blog though I’ve been reading it for a while 🙂

    No, no beard for me hopefully (I’m female).

    For new year’s resolutions, I’m going to do something different. Instead of the usual exercise, etc., my new year’s resolution are (1) to read 4 books a month (2 can be for pleasure), (2) be more active on my blog (3 posts a week) especially since people have been emailing me to update it; and lastly (4) volunteer. I haven’t decided where but I will commit to volunteering. It doesn’t have to be a recognized non-profit organization.

    I love to read so that should be easy. I have volunteered in the past so that also should be easy. I just need to figure out what and where. My blog will be a bit more difficult since I have only sporadically posted for the last couple of years but if I set aside time, I can do it. I used to do it for the first two years so it should not be a problem if I just commit to it.

Leave a Reply

