Field Trips and Rebellion

If all goes as planned, I will be going on a field trip with my eldest daughter tomorrow. Where are we going? I haven’t a clue.

Yes, she’s told me where we’re going. No, I haven’t retained it. Because I have to remember the names of all 5 of my kids, I am very selective on what else I choose to remember. To wear pants? Yes! To drive on the right side of the road? Yes! The Macarena? Yes! Field trip destinations? Not so much.

Regardless of where we end up there is one thing I know for sure: I will lead my group off the beaten path at least once.

I’m no non-conformist. You can tell this by my conservative wardrobe, my lifelong commitment to one hairstyle, and my insistence on my bologna always having a first name. The wildest thing about me is that I don’t mind if my socks are mismatched.

However, when it comes to strictly following instructions given on field trips of where to go and where not to go, I’m a smoldering cauldron of mischief.

Okay, maybe that is a slight overstatement of the truth. The truth is, while I do normally veer off the beaten path slightly it isn’t because I am some sort of super-secret rebel. It is because I am human and all humans are rebels.

All people are born with a sin nature which leads us to being in open rebellion against a holy God. We are sinners with an inherently rebellious nature bent on having and going our own way. This rebellion leads us to destruction and a destination of eternal separation from God.

Unless….

Unless we respond to the Gospel with faith in Christ and repentance of my sins.

I don’t like that we are rebels. I do like that God made a way for us to be adopted into His family.

And I am going to slightly disregard the field trip instructions tomorrow. Just because.

How do you rebel in harmless ways?

7 thoughts on “Field Trips and Rebellion

Leave a Reply

