A Little Ditty About John Piper

So…I love Jesus. And I’m also a fan of “Weird” Al Yankovic. Which means sometimes I make up songs.

Like this one about John Piper to the tune of John Mellencamp’s song “Jack and Diane.”

I’m not a very good singer (or videographer) and it doesn’t make a lot of sense unless you know a little bit about Dr. Piper. But I enjoyed doing it and maybe you will enjoy it, too. Or maybe not. Whichever.

Anyway…Piper implores people in his writings and sermons to not waste their lives on temporary things. That is really what this song is about, even though it is quite silly.

And Dr. Piper, if you see this, thanks for all you have done and are doing for the glory of God. And since you are living in the Knoxville, TN area for a while and since the church I pastor is just a few miles away in Harriman–consider coming down and preaching for us one Sunday. You know, if you aren’t too busy writing about a thousand books.

Little Ditty about a guy named John
An American Man who pastored in the heartland
Piper is known as a preaching star
The theology of Jonathan Edwards has taken him far

He’s retired now, but he’s still writing books,
He also spends time giving idolaters funny looks
John say “Hey, everybody lets not waste our lives
Doing things that don’t honor Christ.”

Johnny say-
Oh yeah-what you do for Christ goes on
Long after all the sea shells on the beach are gone.
Oh yeah-what you do for Christ goes on
Long after all the sea shells on the beach are gone.

Piper sits and reflects his thoughts for a moment
Scratches his head and does his best gesturing
Well you know being retired is kind of boring
Unless you’re a Christian Hedonist like me.

Jesus is my rock
My name’s on the roll
Christ came down
And saved my soul
Gonna glorify Him as long as I can
He is most glorified in us
When we’re satisfied in Him.

Johnny say-
Oh yeah-what you do for Christ goes on
Long after all the sea shells on the beach are gone.
Oh yeah-what you do for Christ goes on
Long after all the sea shells on the beach are gone.

On a scale of 1-10 with 1 being terrible and 10 being unbearable–what do you give my little ditty?
Also, how are you seeking to not waste your life?

9 thoughts on “A Little Ditty About John Piper

  1. I confess Matt that since time is short for me this morning I did not listen. I did read the ditty though. Very creative, in a Weird Al sort of way. LOL. To answer your question: trying to live each day to the hilt and enjoy it. And while doing so bring some others along for the ride with me.

  2. I’m seeking to sell sea shells by the seashore.

    A guy did tell me that a friend of his went to church a couple of weeks ago and, lo and behold, Piper did show up there that morning.

  3. The video was a little jumpy, but the general parody was pretty funny. Great job. And thanks for the reminder to make the most of these days … to live for Christ … to leave a legacy that lasts.

Leave a Reply

