Replacing Duck Dynasty

Duck Dynasty, the reality series on A&E that focuses on the Robertson family who own and operate a business in West Monroe, LA, begins a new season tonight. Contrary to what some people may believe about the lack of red on my neck, I will be watching.

Yes, I’m a fan of Duck Dynasty. I know the situations on the show are somewhat (or completely) contrived and that it can be a little hokey at times. But I also know that hearing Uncle Si, Phil, Jase, or Willie pontificate about the various aspects of life makes me smile.

There is plenty to like about this show, but there is one thing I definitely dislike–it won’t go on forever. Every show, regardless of how well-liked, eventually ends. And when it ends, something has to fill the void.

Here are three suggestions (along with possible quotes) to possibly replace Duck Dynasty:

1. Deacon Dynasty. “First it’s pretty projections screens. Next it’s pretty offering plates. The next thing you know the youth pastor is wearing skinny jeans and lensless glasses.” Plus, every deacon I know likes sweet tea at least as much as Si.

2. Diaper Dynasty. “Everybody stinky, stinky, stinky.” “I’m the master of distractions. A couple of hand gestures and BAM! I’ll pull the diaper clean off of your butt, Jack!”

3. New England Patriots Dynasty. “I’ve always been a Brady man.”

These suggestions will never be made into television shows and that’s okay. What I do hope is that those who make programming decisions for the various stations will see the success of Duck Dynasty and seek to put more shows on the air that focus on family and faith.

And it wouldn’t hurt if some of the people on the shows had awesome beards, Jack!

What are your suggestions for possible Duck Dynasty replacements? 

20 thoughts on “Replacing Duck Dynasty

  1. I just recently started watching, but it is great. Like you said, it definitely feels staged and contrived at times, but you still get the sense of a real family who genuinely cares for each other. I don’t care what they replace it with–we do need more like this show (not cheap knock-offs, real people and real faith).

  2. The key to a good replacement reality show is to continue with the same characters but in a different location. Typically they put them in a new city or even a new country. I’d love to see the guys of Duke Dynasty live in New York City for a season.

  3. I’ve never watched this show, but I’ve heard wonderful things about it. I’m all for a show that’s family focuses and clean enough for kids to watch.

    Like the Diaper Dynasty.

  4. Reefer Dynasty. The trials and tribulations of a man and his family who operate a dispensary in the Mile High(er) city. With Breaking Bad coming to an end, it’s a can’t lose show.

    Totally kidding, of course. 🙂

  5. I’m like Bill, except that I did watch 10 minutes of the show. I’m not against the show, but it just isn’t my cup of tea. I can’t really make any comments about it because I am totally ignorant as to what goes on. Your former employer is a sponsor of the show, so I see all sorts of references not only on social media, but at work as well.

Leave a Reply

