Book Review – Questions of a Curious Nature

 

Questions of a Curious Nature

It is a pleasure to review this book and it is also a chore. It is a pleasure because the book has an insane number of high points worthy of praise; it is a chore because it is a book that defies categorization which makes it difficult to explain. In fact, this is the main reason it has taken me a few weeks to write a review.

With Questions of a Curious Nature, Matt Orth has written a work of fiction that sometimes reads as nonfiction. It Is full of satire, humor, allegory, and brain-stimulating situations and discussions. I could say this is a smart book, but it is more than that; it is a book unlike any other I have read in that it marries topics and ideas which should not go well together in a satisfying and engaging way.

On the surface, the book is about a reporter named Annabelle Farrow and the interviews she conducts with a variety of people – past, present, and…well…unreal (yet who represent very real things and ideas). If you go a little deeper, though, it is about so much more. Faith, hope, fear, hypocrisy, anger, prayer, and worship are just a few of the topics that are discussed and sometimes dissected in a thoughtful and thought-provoking manner.

Another thing I appreciate about this book is the constructive tone Orth takes when it comes to the problems within Christianity and the Church. He doesn’t just condemn and criticize (something that is done frequently and quite poorly, yet often gains a wide readership). He also offers meaningful ways to improve our thinking and doing while not forgetting to mention what the Bride of Christ gets right.

There were times while reading this book that I had to put it down because I was laughing so hard. The chapter titled “Hypocrisy Inside” alone is worth the price of the book. There were also chapters like “Unspoken” that made me cringe because it hit so close to home.  And there were a couple of chapters where I wasn’t quite sure what was going on at first until an “a-ha!” moment arrived that caused it all to make perfect sense. There were also a couple of times when I felt like weeping.

If you like to laugh, buy this book. If you like to think, buy this book. If you like to be challenged, by this book. If you like reading books that are hard to put down, buy this book.

No matter the reason…BUY THIS BOOK.

You will be glad that you did.

You can purchase his book from Amazon by going herehttp://tinyurl.com/l8huht6 

To find out more about the author, Matt Orth, or this book you can visit his website – http://www.lesswithoutyou.com/

And you can follow him on twitter – @lesswithoutyou

Are you going to buy Matt’s book? What book have you read that was the hardest to put down?

11 thoughts on “Book Review – Questions of a Curious Nature

  1. you make the book sound interesting Matt. I will check it out. My most recent books were The Difference You Make by Pat Williams and Gospel by J.D. Greear. They are both keepers.

  2. Sounds good. I have so many books on my “list” but I don’t mind adding one more. 🙂 Thanks Matt. As for reading, I tend to read several books at once and bounce between them. It works for me (most of the time)!

  3. Great Review…I’m a friend of the author’s (full disclosure) and have worked side by side with him since 1996 as a college pastor, discipler, and church planter. Matt Orth has important things to say and this book is just the tip of the iceberg.

  4. A family member bought this book. I found it sitting on a shelf, glanced at the cover and involuntarily thought to myself “uh oh, granola time,” and came within a heartbeat of dismissing the book out of hand. Luckily, I did not. Instead, I read the introduction, and then found myself — almost in a state of disbelief — reading on and on. I was amazed to find that the book is not just one more new age book muttering away about a world none of us really lives in. To the contrary, the book is written by someone with a profound understanding of everyday reality, who is astonishingly good at sharing that understanding. This is simply a beautiful little book, beautifully written. I would be curious to know if others are reacting to this book the way I am: I feel compelled to rave about it. I read the book for the first time weeks ago, yet tonight in the grocery store I found myself slowing down, marvelling at the sight of my daughter gaily picking out tomatoes, and consciously basking in the moment. And I’m a middle-aged Republican, not particularly predisposed to spiritual impulses! The author of this book has something timeless and important to impart, and he does so with unusual intelligence and grace. I really like this book — indeed, I hope I’m forgiven for suspecting that it is a work of genius. I also hope that the author happens to read this review, because he should know how much his work is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

