Thoughts From The Cheesecake Factory

My wife and I were able to get away from our kids for a few hours this past Saturday. No, we didn’t use duct tape; they stayed with my parents.

One of the things we did on our date day was try out a fairly new Cheesecake Factory in Knoxville. If you haven’t been to a Cheesecake Factory, do yourself a favor and go. Now.  Quit reading this, hop in your car, and go NOW. Finish reading this when you get back.

Anyway, here a few thoughts I had while in the Cheesecake Factory:

1. I’m glad I didn’t wear sweatpants. Most factories I have ever been in aren’t fancy. Usually they kind of stink and have various amounts of grease here and there. Not the Cheesecake Factory, though. That place is fancy.

2. Their menu might be the longest book some people have ever read. Especially people from Alabama. Seriously, it was 22 pages long. TWENTY-TWO PAGES. It was sort of overwhelming for a guy who has the dollar menu at McDonald’s memorized.

3. I should have worn sweatpants. After eating a “Macaroni and Cheeseburger,” fries, and over half of a slice of a “Toasted Marshmallow S’mores Galore” cheesecake, my britches were a little snug. And by a little snug, I mean my top button was missing.

4. I can see why some people are willing to wait a couple of hours for a table. We went when half of Knoxville was either at the University of Tennessee football game or at home watching it on TV, so we only had to wait 20 minutes. But I can understand why some are willing to wait much longer.

Thinking about how long people are willing to wait to get a table there made me think of something else.

Namely, how long are we willing to wait for something even better. Like whatever it is you have been praying for, asking God for, begging for and haven’t yet received.

You may think you have waited a long time, that you have persevered in prayer long enough.

Let me encourage you–if it something you believe you are to pray for…keep praying.

Keep asking.

Keep seeking.

The Cheesecake Factory is good; what God can provide is infinitely better.

Have you ever been to The Cheesecake Factory? Is there something you have been praying for that I can pray for, too?

 

10 thoughts on “Thoughts From The Cheesecake Factory

  1. Never been to a Cheesecake Factory. Don’t ever plan on it either. The food is neither on my desire list or my “wallet will allow this” list. As for the latte question: the answer is yes and I will continue doing so.

  2. I have. LOVE it! We are praying for money for a new roof for our house. I really don’t want to go into debt. We are also praying for a church building to call our own. I’m patiently waiting on God. Thanks for this post. You rock!

Leave a Reply

