Why September 11, 2001 Was a Good Day

September 11, 2001 is remembered as one of the worst days in U.S. History. Thinking about the lives lost and lives dramatically altered on that day brings a great deal of sadness to my heart.

I remember where I was when I first heard about a plane flying into one of the World Trade Center Towers; sitting at my desk where I worked at the time trying to keep the team I managed on task. After a second plane did the same thing, I gave up on this goal and began praying as we started hearing the reports about who was behind the attacks.

There are thousands of reasons why I believe September 11, 2001 was a bad day.

But I there is one reason I believe it was a good day…

My wife and I received final approval to be foster parents that day.

After determining we would probably never have biological children, we decided a few months prior to become foster parents. We filled out plenty of paperwork, attended numerous classes, and had our backgrounds checked.

And on the evening of September 11, 2001, a case worker inspected our home and approved us to be foster parents for the state of Tennessee.

It was a surreal moment. That day we had been bombarded by scenes of death and destruction. And that evening a door was opened up to us to be entrusted with little lives.

Being foster parents eventually led to us becoming adoptive parents. We have now have five children, four adopted and one biological.

And the adoption of our four children was made possible because of what happened on September 11, 2001.

It was, in part, a good day.

Where were you when you first heard of the tragic events on that day? Do you remember anything good about that day?

10 thoughts on “Why September 11, 2001 Was a Good Day

  1. I was in the cafeteria at Southern Seminary. I was walking by and saw several people around a TV. I asked what was going on and someone said a plane had flown into the WTC. I thought it was a small plane and went about my business as though it was no big deal. Shortly I found out differently.
    September 11 can never be a day of somberness for me though. It’s Andrew’s birthday, so it’s always a happy day around our house.

  2. I was in a car with two other guys attending a one day satellite seminar on church perspectives. We arrived and heard the news. On the way home, we helped a young lady change a tire and get her to a gas station.

  3. I was in a class at UNM. We were all huddled around the spoiled kid’s smartphone, terrifying ourselves with updates.

    I remember the solidarity our country felt at the time.

  4. Here in Minnesota, I got a call from the neighbor across the street who told me we were under attack, that one tower had already fallen (I woke late due to issues with one of *our* foster kids the night before). I arrived in front of a TV minutes before the second tower fell.

    A few years later, when I was working for Northwest Airlines, I was attending a class for folks who would fill a security role at our individual airports when the instructor asked where everyone was, and the most unique answer I heard came from a gal who said she was in a bar in Guam when it started coming down, and they watched throughout the night.

Leave a Reply

