Ninety-Eight Socks

I love all the people in my family, but I’m not particularly fond of their feet. Let me explain.

There are seven people in my immediate family; me, my wife, and our five kids. I love all of them tremendously even on those days when they drive me slightly crazy.

However, having seven people in your family means there are fourteen feet. Don’t get me wrong–I’m glad everyone in my family has two feet. It is really our socks that cause the problem.

Having fourteen feet in my family means that we wear fourteen socks every day. Multiply that by the seven days in a week and you have….

98 SOCKS!!!

EVERY WEEK!!!

Guess who has two thumbs and hates washing that many socks and matching them every week? Anyone with two thumbs.

Which is why they rarely get matched. That’s right–we don’t normally match our socks.

So, what do we do instead? We put them in a basket. What’s this basket called? The sock basket.

Isn’t it aggravating to always have to get socks out of the sock basket? No more aggravating than it would be to match all of them.

Maybe you think this is weird and are silently judging me in your head. And if so, that is fine. Because no matter who you are, you do some weird stuff, too.

We’re all different to some degree.

Yet, we are all the same in some important ways.

We are all created in the image of God. We have all sinned and fallen short of His glory. We all need Jesus.

No matter how weird we are or whether we have sock baskets or even if you bite your toenails.

It’s a good thing Jesus loves weirdos–because that describes us all.

What do you do that is a little weird?

8 thoughts on “Ninety-Eight Socks

  1. I don’t do anything just because everyone else is doing it. Sometimes I don’t do it because of that. Like TV shows. That’s one reason I never watched Breaking Bad and Duck Dynasty. People start talking about it and I resist going there.

  2. I don’t think you’re weird! It’s only me at my house and I still hate sorting socks. So when my socks start wearing out, I buy them in bulk, like 2 or three bags of the same black sock. (Which also explains why my socks tend to all wear out at the same time.) Sorting is pretty easy when every single sock is like the other. But even so, I mostly just leave them in the basket too. So yeah, you sound totally normal to me!

Leave a Reply

