I’m Suprised Teachers Don’t…

Last night was “Open House” at the elementary school four of my children attend. We were there for an hour and a half. In that time I came to a few conclusions. Here they are:

I’m surprised teachers don’t…

1. Quit. Every single day.

2. Slap someone. Every single day.

3. Go into the fetal position and cry for hours. Every single day.

4. Develop new twitches. Every single day.

5. Dream about having a less stressful job. Every single day.

Why am I surprised by all of this? Because of the noise.

To be honest, I think about this every time we eat lunch with one of our kids. The noise is deafening and the number of children all behaving in various shades of awful is jarring.

I’m not sure how much teachers get paid these days. Whatever it is, I don’t think it’s enough.

So, if you are a teacher who loves kids and does your best to teach and lead them….

THANK YOU!

What are you surprised that teachers don’t do? Who was your favorite teacher?

12 thoughts on “I’m Suprised Teachers Don’t…

  1. I have a daughter who is a teacher and I would say “visit the funny farm every day.” I also surprised teacher don’t punch the lights of everyone who says, “but you only work 9 (now 10) months of the year.” I know better.

  2. I’m a teacher, middle school. I have been chewed out, cussed out, flipped off–both by parents and students. I wake up at 5:00am, leave the house at 6:15, and have kids walking into my room at 7:05. The school day is over at 2:35, but I usually stay after school until 4:00 (sometimes 3:30, sometimes 4:30) to get things done–grade papers, make lesson plans, contact parents, type newsletters, etc. I often go home and continue doing these things. I get paid $29k a year after taxes. I owe $40k in student loans.

    After all this, teaching is still the one and only thing I could ever see myself doing with my life. I truly feel like I was “born to teach” and get such a reward from the ones that “get it” and get that light bulb that goes off after I’ve taught something. Some kids make my time with them miserable, but many more bring so much joy! It has its struggles for sure, but teaching really is an amazing thing.

    Thanks for the teacher love! 🙂

  3. Sometimes the children who cause problems and make teachers miserable, or the ones who are too quiet, don’t participate or have friends are the ones who need teaching and attention the most; things they often don’t get at home. If they are taught at home they are worthless and trouble and “bad” they will carry that with them into the schoolroom and throughout their lives. Hopefully, some teacher somewhere, someday will do what one single teacher did for me; give me a sense of self-worth and a hope that maybe I wasn’t hopeless and useless, stupid and unwanted. I was in the 8th grade before I received that kindness.

Leave a Reply

